Monday, November 3, 2014

MHS Athletic Hall of Fame Induction

For generations, Milton High School athletes have excelled on the field, court and track in countless athletic events. League titles were won, state championships were earned and hundreds of student athletes earned scholarships to some of the top colleges and universities in the nation.  But until recently, there was no way to acknowledge those students who gave so much to Milton High School athletics. Former Milton High coach and teacher Michael Goodless thought that should change. About eight years ago, he began to put together a plan to create the Milton High School Athletic Hall of Fame.
“Milton High was a school with an outstanding athletic tradition and one of the few schools in Massachusetts with no athletic hall of fame,” said Mr. Goodless. “With the enthusiastic support and encouragement of Superintendent Mary Gormley, I started the process by forming a group of teachers, coaches and administrators who had a passion for athletics.”
With the help of early strong supporters Dick Ryan, Dennis Duggan, Margaret Gibbons and Tom Herget, the group was able to establish bylaws and a plan for the first induction. More recently, the group has been helped by Sean McDonagh, Mark Sullivan, Bill Donovan and others. The first induction was held in 2007, with the unveiling of plaques in the Copeland Field House lobby and a reception at the Common Market. Now, eight years later, there have been 83 individuals inducted, along with 11 teams.  All of the inductees are honored by plaques in the lobby of the Copeland Field House at Milton High School.
The Class of 2014 induction ceremony was held on November 1st at the Copeland Field House, followed by a reception at the Hoosic Club.  The MHS Athletic Hall of Fame added another 11 individuals and six teams at the ceremony. This year’s inductees are: John Bibinski 1980, Molly Golden 2007, Pamela Kelley 1982, John Kantaros 1968, Jamie McCormack 1999, Alex Lazar Norrman 2003, Bob Norton 1971, Donald Shea 1943, Kevin Ryan 1993, John Vercollone 1968, Carl Wallin 1957, Baseball 1979, Boys Basketball 1990, Field Hockey 1986, Lacrosse 2000, Softball 2005, Wrestling 1964.
This year’s Board of Directors are: Michael Goodless, Chairperson; Dennis Duggan, Vice-Chairperson; Thomas Herget, Treasurer; and members Dyann Crowley, Bill Donovan, Margaret Gibbons, Sean McDonagh and Dick Ryan.
“It’s a labor of love, that’s for sure,” said Dick Ryan, former MHS Athletic Director and  current board member. “The committee works very hard and we’ve been successful, thanks to the direction of Mike Goodless.”
The 2014 Selection Committee members are: Brian Borde, Dennis Duggan, Margaret Gibbons, Michael Goodless, Thomas Herget, Deirdre Enos Lovett, Gary Maus, Sean McDonagh, Karen Duggan McLaughlin, Ellen McCarthy Needham, Richard Ryan and Tracy Bubas Turgeon.
“The Milton High Athletic Hall of Fame is a hardworking group that does a great job in honoring our student-athletes from all decades,” said James Jette, principal of Milton High School. “Not only are they great athletes, they are great people too. By recognizing the contribution of our high school athletes, we honor our town, our schools and both past and present residents of Milton who excelled at their sport.”